Add a manual line to Microsoft Word as horizontal divider

For my current class’ essay, I have been required to make an executive summary instead of an abstract. And executive summary is basically a whole page (or two, depends on your instructor) that summarizes your whole report/essay. The purpose of this is for “executives” or readers who do not have time to read the whole report, and so the executive summary would give them the whole idea of what your essay is about. So it’s writing your whole essay again, but in summary, not as conclusion, but in a straightforward detailed summary (no abbreviations, all typed out). It’s “why do I have to read the whole essay when there is one page summary that says it all” kind of paper. So in my school, an executive summary format has to have “Executive Summary” as header, and yes, italic, and there’s a horizontal line below it, the thinnest kind. And I had a hard time editing that line, because I was typing it wrong, it would come out thick.   So I used 3 hyphens and pressed enter. It gave me a thin line. Here’s a guide: http://www.techrepublic.com/blog/microsoft-office/add-horizontal-lines-to-a-word-document/

Tagged ,

Leave a comment